lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-26-2014, 07:02 AM   #1
zrtman
Not Yet Wild

Default What to look for in a used cart

Hey everyone - newbie here from North Carolina - nice site/forums!

Joined the forums because I need to get my father inlaw a cart. He has bad knees and needs something to get around his neighborhood. In our area everything seems to be EZ-GO or Club car electric carts.

Any brands or models better than others? 36 or 48 volt? We are looking at older carts (4-wheel '80s and '90s era). Sometimes I even find carts cosmetically good but missing batteries and unable to test drive.

I am very mechanically inclined... I just don't want to think I got a great deal on a non running cart for $400 only to find out it will take $1000+ to get it reliable (when I could have bought a reliable cart to start with for $1200).

Sorry if this is a vague question or if it is not in the correct forum...
zrtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 03-26-2014, 07:33 AM   #2
KillerCC
Call me Rich

Club Car

Default Re: What to look for in a used cart

If you dont have any plans of modifying the cart (ie. Lifting, off roading or racing) then either brand is good. Batteries are everything! Id rather buy a cart with no or dead batteries so I can put new ones in. Expect to pay anywhere from $600-900 for them and replace cables if needed. If no batteries are in it than core charges are gonna run ya about $90. Hope this helps.
KillerCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 07:36 AM   #3
jra007
Not Yet Wild

Quote:
Originally Posted by zrtman View Post
Hey everyone - newbie here from North Carolina - nice site/forums!