lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-29-2017, 04:40 PM   #1
AZ.
Not Yet Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Logical upgrades?

Newbie here!

Just added a 6" lift and 23" tires, to a 97 ez-go 36volt....

In time, I want to upgrade to 48v.. without doing or buying anything twice?

What mods can be done to existing cart?

Existing batteries in good shape, everything else bone stock...

Can I just add motor that is dual voltage, then when I'm ready upgrade everything else?

Sorry for the basic questions....reading for days causes more confusion for me!
AZ. is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-29-2017, 04:52 PM   #2
gornoman
Stay thirsty my friends!

Mixed Breed

Default Re: Logical upgrades?

First thing to do is replace all the high current 6g OEM cables with 4g/2g welding cable. Do the motor/controller cables too, all of them. Next, upgrade your F/R switch to a HD unit if the cart is Series drivetrain. Then install a high amp controller that is happy on both 36v and 48v. Also install a HD solenoid that is dual voltage compatible. Now your cart is beefed up for those bigger tires, AND, ready for the future 48v upgrade. Leave the 36v motor in the cart, it will wake right up on 48v.
gornoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2017, 04:54 PM   #3
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things

E-Z-GO

AZ, first off tell us exactly what kind of cart do you have....what drive system (series or DCS/PDS (sepex) Drive). How do you use your cart? ON ROAD, OFF-ROAD? a little of both? or primarily on the street/dirt roads. and what do you want or expect to do with it.