lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-07-2016, 02:23 AM   #1
MDOVERALL
Not Yet Wild

Default New Guy Needs Help to Upgrade a EZGO 97 SEPEX cart

Hello, I have never owned a cart and got one cheap. It is a 97 EZGO Sepex DCS cart. I am currently charging the batteries and not sure if they are any good. It has a lift and 22in tires, and everything else is stock it appears.

I want to make a good cart for my two boys to mess around with. We live on a little land and they will use it to run around on, go off road, and to run around the deer lease.

I am curious with all the options out there what I should do to upgrade it. Such as controllers or go to 48 and etc.

Again I have no experience with carts and appreciate your thoughts.

Mike
MDOVERALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 01-07-2016, 07:03 AM   #2
kgsc
Gone Wild

Mixed Breed

Default Re: New Guy Needs Help to Upgrade a EZGO 97 SEPEX cart

If you have to buy batteries my advice is to go ahead and jump to 48 volts. That will require the batteries, new controller which will be a major improvement over stock, solenoid, charger and changing out the main current wires which you should do anyway. Total investment in the $1500 range but would have good strong setup.

My 2 cents.
kgsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2016, 08:00 AM   #3
mutant
Gone Wild
E-Z-GO

42v batt pack, stock motor,upgrade everything else(2g wires,controller,solenoid,ect) and you will have a great cart for years imo....
mutant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2016, 09:15 AM   #4
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

Over the years I have found the stock DCS and PDS do better on 42 volts than 36 or 48 volts.