lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-06-2017, 06:50 AM   #1
morgaler
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Default Club car ds with regen system

I habe a club car 48 volt with the regen breaking on down hill... Is the regen good or bad. Please bear with me as to I'm new to all this.
morgaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2017, 07:35 AM   #2
Lochlin
Gone Wild

Default Re: Club car ds with regen system

It's like anything else. Good or bad is a matter of opinion.

Some will say that, assuming things are working properly, then regen is good as it's charging the batteries and getting you longer run time. Others will say it's no good as the minimal benefits you get from the charging isn't worth having the cart slow itself down when you don't really want it to.

Me personally I am not a fan. Even when it's working perfectly (and how often does that really happen) it really doesn't add a noticeable difference in run time. It's just one more thing that can fail. Again, that's just me. Others may not agree with me which is fine.

I did away with it by way of a Plum Quick motor install.
Lochlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2017, 07:44 AM   #3
Cruise Master
Gone Wild
Club Car

For me I could care less about the charging aspect. I never run my batteries anywhere near half full.

The reason why I would never get rid of it is for the slowing ability on downhill runs. I got a couple of runs down gravel roads with a turn at the bottom. If all I had was a vintage cable brake design engaging only two drums on a four wheel machine, well that's just crazy talk.
Cruise Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2017, 08:01 AM   #4
Lochlin
Gone Wild

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruise Master View Post