lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-12-2011, 12:06 PM   #1
Eugene11
Not Yet Wild

Default Bring it back from the dead

I am a newb, this is my first post my first cart. I know nothing. Lol. Guy gave me a 1980 36 volt club car. He said it ran. As soon as u hooked the batteries up it took off on him. I think that its a selinoid problem. Also I want to do away with 6 6v batteries and go with 3 12v. Will the charger I have work with the 12v batteries?
Eugene11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 12-12-2011, 01:33 PM   #2
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Bring it back from the dead

It does sound like the main solenoid is welded shut.... not too familiar with 1980 drive system?
The charger will work but the batteries won't last but 6 months or so.
scottyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 01:39 PM   #3
shadowman
The Last Moja Morani

Club Car

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene11 View Post
I am a newb, this is my first post my first cart. I know nothing. Lol. Guy gave me a 1980 36 volt club car. He said it ran. As soon as u hooked the batteries up it took off on him. I think that its a selinoid problem. Also I want to do away with 6 6v batteries and go with 3 12v. Will the charger I have work with the 12v batteries?

yes it seems the solenoid is stuck on, as for doing that with your batteries......big mistake your gonna lose runtime and they won,t last near as long but yes your charger will work.............................
shadowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 08:52 PM   #4
Eugene11
Not Yet Wild