lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Modified Golf Carts > Lifted Golf Carts
Lifted Golf Carts Off-Road Golf Carts.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-06-2011, 05:58 PM   #1
scootsk
Gone Wild

Default ST 480 Build

I'm starting my build threat today. Not doing anything crazy. Just beautifying the cart a little. Heres what I had to start with. Two carts-one for parts.

I am looking for tips, tricks and constructive criticism. This is my first build and I'm learning.
scootsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-06-2011, 06:03 PM   #2
scootsk
Gone Wild

Default Re: ST 480 Build

Here they are in the driveway in various states of disassembly. The cart on the right runs. Everthing works - Dump bed, lights, locking diff. Needs a little TLC though.

That's Bailey in the last pic, she is my helper.
Old 05-06-2011, 06:17 PM   #3
scootsk
Gone Wild

My first order of business today was to swap the front axle under the springs. The was easy enough. Although, the tie rods are hitting the springs.

HERE IT IS BEFORE:

HERE IS THE AFTER SHOT:

The tie rods are touching the springs

To try and correct that I placed a 1/2" steel spacer between the chassis and spring in the rear.

Here they are installed. I ended up placing another spring plate in there as well for 3/4" total lift in the rear. Only helped a little. Here is what it looks like compared to the other cart.

Now I need to think about putting the axle over the springs again and maybe placing a 2" square tube in the rear so that i may keep my steering geometry.

Is there anyway of making the axle flip work?

Does anybody know of a suitable shock to replace the shorter version? I will use shock extenders as a last resort.
Old 05-06-2011, 06:26 PM   #4
scootsk
Gone Wild