lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-31-2012, 12:45 PM   #1
beckfrompeck
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default 1988 ez go has spark, no turn over even with ether.

im new to the buggie/cart world. im a diy guy cause in the end i want to know what was the problem in the beginning. i found a project 1988 ez go gas rig last year. two days of cleaning fuel lines and it was running. it didnt have drive belt so put that on and cruised it for about twenty minutes then never got back to it. last week i tore into it again with cleaning and rebuilding all fuel components. vaccumed the fuel pump and it holds. get spark but when i put ether in chamber spark doesnt ignite it at all. is this an ignition coil problem? too weak of spark? battery is fully charged and im only getting spark between both electrodes on plug when held to grnd. ive read that you should have a 1/4" to 1/2" gap sparking from ground source, is this correct? also are these **** things supposed to go into nuetral, because i cannot move my cart without it running.

thanks, travis
beckfrompeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-31-2012, 02:01 PM   #2
BrewCityMusic
Hammer Down !!!!

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 1988 ez go has spark, no turn over even with ether.

The 88 doesn't have a neutral (although there is a "N" position on the shifter, which actually is a holdover from the electric models) - the engine runs backwards to give you reverse, or forward for forward.

That said, unless it's RUNNING, you'll likely go nowhere at all, so let's tackle THAT problem first, LOL (welcome to the forum, BTW) ...