lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-06-2017, 03:49 PM   #1
ta69man
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Default '06 precedent, solenoid does not close

Hi Group,

I'm new to golf carts but not electrical systems. I bought an 06 precedent with a burned up controller (outside melted, fets all burned inside) for cheap. I got a "good" used controller for a local golf cart place (Curtis 15101-5250) and put it in. The battery pack is not fully charged but at 51 volts. I set the switch under the seat to "run", put the FNR switch in neutral, and turned on the key... Nothing... I then put the FNR switch in forward and slowly hit the throttle (with rear jacked up)... again nothing... but the battery light on the dash lit up for a few seconds solid and then went out (no light since). The solenoid (contactor) is not closing. I chased voltage around the cart and I'm getting 51 volts after the tow/run to the controller, and key to the controller, and forward and reverse 51 volts to the controller, and the pedal switch to the controller (all switching on/off as they should). I have 51 volts going to the solenoid and I can't find a situation where the controller will provide the ground to close it... I pulled the solenoid and manually operated the solenoid (applied 48V and it closed strong).

It could be that the supposed good used controller is not really good... but I want to exhaust everything I can.

Does the OBC have anything to do here?

Should I bypass the solenoid... I've read of a few people doing that but it doesn't sounds like a good idea.

When *should* the solenoid close? After key or after pedal down?

Thanks
ta69man is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-06-2017, 03:51 PM   #2
ta69man
Not Yet Wild
Club Car