lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-06-2014, 03:42 PM   #1
Joshsrvy
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Default f/r switch caught on fire

I am completely new to the cart scene. I have a 91 CC DS 36 volt v-glide (I think) that was a generous gift from the in-laws. Serial number and several post and pics I have read and viewed on this forum point me in that direction. I have also been reading several of the post on this forum to try and familiarize myself with the basics of electric carts, since the fire that almost killed us as my wife puts it.

when i got the cart my father in law also included a new factory f/r switch still in the box. he said that the one on the cart was giving him a little trouble so he bought a new one and just didn't have time to install it. now being like kids on Christmas morning we (family) wanted to play on the cart. this is where the fire happens. the positive cable got so hot "apparently" that it melted the coating and the connection point on the f/r switch. Ok, i now know that there is a little more to carts than just charge them up and go, especially on this older cart. i have also figured out that i need to upgrade this thing to a 48v and a get rid of the coils and go with a controller for the applications that we will be using it for. i have a family of 5, it will be used off road a little and numerous trips to the community pool which has several large hills in between my house and the pool.