lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 10-06-2010, 09:01 PM   #1
Colbyntx
Gone Wild

Club Car

Default Rebuild, series or regen?

I have a 95 CC DS 48V(6X8V) regen cart that I am going to do a total rebuild on but don't know which way to go, Series or Regen. It will be used mostly for light off-road and hunting. I will lift it but don't want to go bigger than 20-22" tires. I don't even know if the controller or OBC works because the batteries are shot. Is there a way to test the controller with a DMM? It is a GE CC black T-shaped controller. I think to convert to a series, the controler and F/R switch are the 2 biggest changes, right? I do have access to a series motor. You guys who have done this many times please help! This is my first build so I need lots of help. Any advice or suggestions will be very helpful.
Colbyntx is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 10-07-2010, 10:09 AM   #2
OLD MEC
Gone Wild

Club Car

Default Re: Rebuild, series or regen?

AS your cart is first year of regen ( lots of early model problems ) and first year of a solid state pedal control ( NOW OBSOLETE ) and you are going to rebuild it any way I would go series and use a Curtis PB-6 like pedal control connected to existing linkage. This is my personal opinion because you will be using it under non golf cart conditions and with lift and larger tires you are loading the stock system beyond its designed capacity. There is a way to test controller off cart but is some what involved. You might want to look at Curtis site ( Curtis Instruments.com ) and look up controllers by your unit number and then click on ( manual ) that gives you tons of info.