lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 11-20-2013, 12:28 PM   #1
Kam9381
Not Yet Wild

Default 1987 Marathon - No low end power/ bogs down at high speed and full throttle

I have been reading through the forums for the last couple months. Some awesome info, and friendly & helpful people. I purchased my very first cart last month. It is a 1987 Marathon. It is kind of a budget build for now. I am a steel fabricator for a living, so I built my own 5" lift, put some 22"x11"x8" rims and tires on, and am in the process of fabbing a custom roll cage/rear seat. My 7 year old daughter is really into helping dad in the garage, which I might add is awesome! Now to my question/problem....Before I get started, I would like to add that I have searched the forum for previously answered questions pertaining to my problem. They seem to have varied quite a bit. The day I brought the cart home, it was a little hesitant to move, and seemed to run a bit rough at first. My daughter drove it around the house for probably 2 hours straight, and it seemed to really clear up, and run good low/top end both. Since that day, I have removed the gas tank, dumped and checked the inside for cleanliness (which was clean), and filled with fresh gas/oil mix. I replaced all of the fuel line, fuel filter, air filter, spark plug, spark plug wire. I added an exhaust gasket at the splice between the muffler and pipe...which was missing. It seemed sluggish on the low end, which I constituted to the larger tires? But before I did anything, you could over rev it if you wanted, now it doesn't seemed to rev as high at full throttle/ high speed. That didn't really concern me so much, but the lack of low end torque is no good. I put a HP3004 (shorter belt) on hoping that would fix the low end issue. It didn't seem to change