lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-12-2022, 08:31 PM   #1
Alyle
Not Yet Wild

Default 30 psi compression on hot pink G1

Found a Yamaha G1 in good condition cosmetically (hot pink) but not running. Was told by the previous owner who also bought it not running for his elderly father that the previous owner stated that it was an issue with the fuel lines. After replacing everything fuel related (flushed tank, replaced fuel lines, new fuel filter, cleaned carb and fuel pump) and getting a new battery it still wouldn't run. I realized then that I should have probably started with a compression test. Running the test I got 30psi..... I was less than pleased. I've seen people posting about low compression but never anything this low.
Since I'm new to this and this is my first golf cart project I'm wondering how bad 30psi is. I assume I'll have to rebuild the top end but with numbers that low I'm wondering what else could possibly be wrong. I got it for a good deal and would have no issues either parting it out or selling it just to break even. I just don't want to rebuild the top end only to find that there are more issues and get in over my head on this cart. Curious what everyone's thoughts are.

From what I can tell, without being able to find any serial numbers and solely based off the carb boot that says "J24", it's an '83+.

Pictures just to show how pretty in pink she looks. (if I keep it I will definitely be giving it a paint job 😂)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20220506_120655.jpg (226.1 KB, 0 views)
Alyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-13-2022, 08:14 AM   #2
AGELE55
Gone Wild

Yamaha

Default Re: 30 psi compression on hot pink G1