lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-14-2020, 06:34 PM   #1
Deafpower72
Not Yet Wild

Default 1999 Ezgo Golf Cart only goes Reverse, no Forward

Hello,
This is my first time posting here. I recently purchased 1999 Ezgo Golf Cart DCS I believe its Medalist.

Previous owner warned me about this problem...it can only run reverse (with full power) and as it is switched to Forward, it would not run. He said it is a simple job to get it fixed at lower cost. It would sputter and jerk forward very barely. After doing my homework on internet and found out this could be micro switch issues. So I purchased brand new micro switch for both: F/R MS and R MS.

Now, I replaced both MS. It ran reverse (Full power) and as soon as I switched to Forward, it ran reverse (full power)! (Manual Switch) so I am missing something!

I have been looking in this forum and Internet...I would not find answers unless I missed something there.

Batteries are 3 years old, wires looks good and solid. There's no hint of burning or smell burnt. Please advise.
Thanks!
Deafpower72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-14-2020, 06:56 PM   #2
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 1999 Ezgo Golf Cart only goes Reverse, no Forward

The two microswitches on the F/R assembly are Run and Reverse. The Run MS contacts have to close in both Forward and Reverse. The Reverse MS contacts are closed only when Reverse is selected.

The direction the motor spins is determined by which direction the amps flow through the field windings and that is determined by the controller's low power output. The F/R switch simply tells the controller which way to send the amps.