lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Modified Golf Carts > Big Block Talk!
Big Block Talk! Everything about swapping a big block engine into your cart!

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-06-2020, 09:20 PM   #1
pgilbert
Getting Wild
Club Car

Question High Idle Issue After Driving

Hi All,

I'm in the process of trying to tune my new VC 625 carb, but running into a consistent issue. Total novice at this, learned alot reading posts here, but i'm stumped and welcome any advice.

Issue: I start the warmed up engine and let it idle. I adjust the black plastic idle screw to bring it down to about 1100-1200 RPM. Idles great. After i take it out of the garage and give it a bit of gas, when I let off the pedal it idles right at 2000RPM. Only way i can get it down is if i restart the engine, or flick the choke on for a second.

I have the following installed:
  • Air screw
  • Adjustable main jet kit from ECcarb
  • Black pilot jet which came with the main jet

Screw settings:
  • Air screw is 1 1/2 open from close.
  • Main jet is 1 1/2 open from close.

The throttle is seated back against the screw, so it's not like its getting stuck open. If i turn the idle screw out, it takes a few turns, then the engine dies after a few seconds.

Wondering if this is caused by the pilot jet being too large? The one which came with my kit visually has a larger hole then the one which came with the carb. Is too much gas getting into the carb? When i restart after this issue, i get a loud backfire everytime.

I've read several posts which mention gas pouring out of the carb. I have not taken my air filter off, but am i experiencing symptoms related to this? I'm happy to add the gas overflow line if needed.

Thanks!

Gilby
pgilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-07-2020, 07:26 AM   #2
slonomo
Searching for The Way

Yamaha

Default Re: High Idle Issue After Driving