lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-02-2021, 09:08 PM   #1
Daniel.smith6
Not Yet Wild

Default G1 lack of crankcase pressure

I have a 1982 Yamaha G1 gas cart. It has not ran for over ten years. I am a student in a Marine and Powersports program and we are taught to do three or four tests on every thing before deciding to fix something. here is what we did and results:

Spark plug test it has great spark
Compression 125psi
Leakdown test less than 10%
Crankcase pressure zero nothing zilch
Crankcase vacuum again zero, nothing zilch
This thing should not run at all.

Here is the problem it runs great no issues. I am going to clean the carb, drain the gas add fresh, but it this one has everybody perplexed. We did the usual stuff plugged everything, closed off everything but still no pressure nothing. What are we missing (12 students, 2 instructors) Thanks in advance

Last edited by Daniel.smith6; 03-02-2021 at 09:14 PM.. Reason: wrong forum
Daniel.smith6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 03-03-2021, 02:26 PM   #2
slonomo
Searching for The Way

Yamaha

Default Re: G1 lack of crankcase pressure

You guys know it's a 2 stroke right?

The G1 likes to eat crank seals. When someone did the last rebuild they might have used aftermarket crank seals, they never last long. Look for oil around the crank, that's a sure sign.

I had a G1 that the clutch side crank seal would pop off and rattle around there behind the clutch lol. It still ran.

Now you say that it runs great, but I'm betting it will run a lot better when you replace the crank seals (assuming that's where the pressure leak is).