lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Modified Golf Carts > Big Block Talk!
Big Block Talk! Everything about swapping a big block engine into your cart!

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-29-2014, 01:39 PM   #1
littleboots
Not Yet Wild

Yamaha

Default Charging system help. BS vtwin 18hp

So I installed a Briggs 18hp v twin a few years back (thanks tom!! CPP) and it seems I keep having the same problem... Dead battery. I purchased a new RV marine battery this past week and the kids drove the cart for a few days and towards the end of the weekend it didn't seem to be charging enough to turn the starter (or kick out starter gear). I put it on charger and it works fine for a few more days.

I have a stereo with small 2 channel amp and some LED Rigid lights on it.

I'm not good with electrical but can figure it out. How do I check how many amps are being produced by engine to charge battery. I'm thinking I'm pulling too many amps and the charging system can't keep up. Is there an upgrade path that I can go with (larger charging system)?

Any help is appreciated the cart is at our river house and I'm going to get it next weekend to bring it home to mess with. Just want to know where I should start. Maybe I have the charging system wired wrong.

Thanks again!!

It's on a yamaha g9.

Last edited by littleboots; 05-29-2014 at 01:41 PM.. Reason: Add things
littleboots is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-29-2014, 07:36 PM   #2
1989Marathon
Gone Wild

Default Re: Charging system help. BS vtwin 18hp

You probably have a 16 amp charging system. You can use a DC clamp-on ammeter(yes, they make them) to check the draw, or an in-line ammeter on the output of the regulator. The charging system will not output if it is not connected to a battery that has at least 5 volts.