lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-15-2022, 04:24 PM   #1
Crawdog
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Default My journey begins with a G9 rebuild!

Hello everyone, I’m new to golf cart rebuilds and new to buddiesgonewild. I’ve started to rebuild my project cart, a Yamaha G9. Overall it’s in decent shape for its age but as one would expect it needs some help to bring it back from the graveyard. I anticipate the biggest challenge being the ability to find various parts. I’m hoping to tap into the vast experience on this site along the way to graciously seek advice and leads.

I have just begun the “tear down” of the body removal and have discovered some items I’d like to replace. So far this list includes rear wheel well liners and both the front and back bumpers. I should be able to repair the bent rear bumper but the bumper guards are either missing or beyond repair. Does anyone know of someone or somewhere that these items might still be available?
Crawdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 04-15-2022, 10:07 PM   #2
slonomo
Searching for The Way

Yamaha

Default Re: My journey begins with a G9 rebuild!

The G9 is a great cart, real tanks! I suspect you'll be looking for quite a few parts, most of which are likely out of production. You might find NOS Yamaha parts on the internet. There are "some" aftermarket parts available. Just remember these carts are roughly 25-30 years old by now, so factory support is about done for many things.

One of the best things I did when rebuilding a G9 was to buy a "parts cart". I actually robbed many parts, including bumpers, off a scrap cart I bought for $400, even used the transaxle in another cart. Definitely got my money's worth on that one.