lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-02-2011, 11:43 PM   #1
JCM 1420
Not Yet Wild

Default 1999 Ezgo electric project. Advice and opinions needed. (with pics)

Hey guys,
First off I've learned a lot from reading over the forum thus far but I figured it was time to start a thread and get some input.

What I have is a 1999 Ezgo DCS. How I came about it is a long story, but essentially I just picked up for a project. I'm admittedly a complete newbie (other than riding on carts at the country club) to this world.

The cart was left sitting outside and hasn't ran in 3 or 4 years and wasn't running when it was abandoned. From discussions with the previous owner it seems it may have been something as simple as a short, but now I have several more problems as the cart has been sitting.

I'm not trying build the baddest cart ever, just get this one running as a learning experience and maybe move on to some better things in the future. Right now I'm most concerned with if I will be able to get it running without dumping too much money into it. If I can get it running I'll then work on cosmetics and maybe a few other small things.

So far I know my batteries are shot, and plan on buying new ones. I've cleaned the years of debris and rats nests out of the cart, and removed the old batteries so I can access the wiring and begin fixing problems and repairing torn and chewed wires. But I know that it is only a matter of time before I have to shell out for batteries and get some juice to it and see what I'm working with.

Here are a few pics, before and after battery and controller removal. Also it has and Alltrax 300 amp DCX controller that I'm hoping isn't shot. Provided the controller and motor are o.k. I can handle other things, solenoids, resistors, coils, etc.