lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-17-2008, 11:12 PM   #1
tn2tool
Getting Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Battery leaking Club Car 48volt

Technical data: 2000.5 Club Car DS 48volt with Trojan batteries.

I have been assigned maintenance on a 2000 Club Car and need help with the batteries. I am new to golf carts and I am not sure what's wrong. We just recently purchased this car from a local golf course and wondering if he sold us a lemon. I checked the battery water level and couldn't see any so I turned to this forums threads and added distilled water just up to the top of the metal fin things(sorry can't remember the proper name). Once it was charged I checked the water levels but did not add any more water. I used the cart for about 30 minutes or so and didn't put it back on the powerdrive charger. I then left for a business trip and returned 4 days later and put it on the charger. Two days later I unplugged it from the charger and when I backed up I noticed a puddle of fluid on the ground. Knowing it was not water I looked at the batteries and they apparently leaked out from the top vents. The cart seems to run fine although it is stock and only goes about 8mph on the GPS. Did leaving it on the charger for several days cause the boil over? I thought the charger shuts down once the batteries are charged. Also, the batteries are swelled out on the sides, is this normal? Right now it is currently not plugged in.

I went back out to the car a few hours later and noticed a very faint gurgle or bubbling sound coming from that batteries and the battery light comes on for a few seconds and goes off and then back on.

Any help would be great.

Tim
tn2tool is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-17-2008, 11:26 PM   #2
scottyb