lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-19-2015, 08:43 PM   #1
mgray70
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Default 2000 G16 not charging

I'm new to Yamaha side of this forum so be easy with me. I'm working on I think a 2000 G16 that is not charging. I was wondering if anyone could point me in the direction of what to test first. The starter works great and I understand it's the same brushes for the generator side also. Any test or diagrams would be appreciated. I suspect the voltage regulator, but I don't want to just throw parts at it as that could get expensive.
Thanks.
mgray70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 07-20-2015, 06:15 PM   #2
bigstik40
Gone Wild

Yamaha

Default Re: 2000 G16 not charging

1. To begin with, I suggest you obtain a copy of your wiring diagram (available in the stickies) and also a voltmeter. Once you have those, connect the meter (set to read 12 volts) across the battery (+ to + and - to -). Should be reading 12.5 volts or so. Start the cart in neutral and rev it up. Normally, with a good VR, battery voltage should rise to between 14.5 to 15.5 volts. If not in range, next step: