lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-03-2008, 10:59 PM   #1
sobastrace
Not Yet Wild

Default clicking 83 CC does not move

Hi All,
Newbie here...I am checking out a friends 83 36 V elec. Clubcar DS. I have gone through a bunch of the threads on this site, and I have done a few tests, but I am still stuck.

They just picked up this cart and it worked 1 day before dying.
When the key switch is turned the cart has no lights until the F/R switch is turned to F and the accellerator pedal is pushed, and the lights come on full power. If it is switched to R and the accellerator is pushed the lights come on 1/2 bright. When the accellerator is pushed the solenoids click, but nothing happens(the cart does not move).

The Previous owner replaced the batteries with US Battery US-2200 225 AH batteries 3 months ago. The batteries are showing 34V across all 6. 5 are showing 6+ volts, and 1 is showing 4.1 Volts. I have individually charged each battery with a 6 volt charger, and the first 5 showed 95-98% charged after 1.5 hours. The last one showed 75-80% after 1.5 hours.

I tested each solenoid by disconnecting and putting 36 volts across the small terminals and each terminal clicked and showed continuity.

The micro switches in the speed control aluminum box attached to the accellerator rod each click (I hear 5 individual clicks), but I am not sure what the best way is test these without ripping that box apart.

The battery cables all look good, and they all tested out with no excessive resistance.

I tested the micro switch on the F/R switch and it tested fine using an Ohm meter.

I am new to carts, but I have a strong electrical background and I have built a few cars over the years, so I would love some input to see if you guys can help me with some troubleshooting .