lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car > Lithium Club Car

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 11-02-2022, 03:56 PM   #1
Davids29
Not Yet Wild

Default Are these battery manufacturers just making up specs?

So, I am new to golf carts, but not electronics, lithium batteries, and electric motors. I was looking through all the specifications of these lithium battery manufacturers, and I think they are just making up numbers as far as the amp draw ratings go, in order best their competitors to sell batteries.

Lets start with the 48V 105AH category. Looking through the battery's on the market, I see this is a common size and flavor of the month. It's a good capacity and physical size for a golf cart. I started looking into which cells they could be using, as I have not found a picture of one taken apart to see the actual cells used. When I start searching these individual cells, I see that almost every one of the 3.2V 105AH cells is actually only rated for 1C continuous, and 3C for 30 seconds discharge. These are the manufacturers specs. So doing some pricing, I can build a pack for about half the current going rate including a nice BMS and charger.

My real question, are the big box battery manufacturers just cooking the numbers and hoping they don't have to warranty very many batteries when they fail? I mean, its not a bad business practice. Most of these batteries are going into stock or slightly modified carts, and in reality, nobody is going to go through 3000-5000 charges in the warranty period. If they just put larger amp limits on their box and warranty the broken batteries as they happen, they can make a lot of profit. If they have the whole assemblies built in China using lesser quality internals, the profit goes even higher.