lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric golf carts > Melex

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-24-2008, 06:13 AM   #1
gstoneberg
Gone Wild

Default Melex 212 Refurb

A few weeks ago I purchased 2 Melex golf carts, a 112 and a 212. I have begun working on the 212 as I'd like to use it to hunt out of. I'd like to make it a little nicer, new sheet metal, slightly larger tires and a bed on the back. The sheet metal is completely shot. I've removed everything from the rear of the cart. However, the front appears to be welded to the frame so it is a little harder to remove. Here are pictures:

Before I started work, when it was still a junk repository in the shop:

Cart rear without sheet metal:

Still lots of work to do. The metal around the battery boxes is a total loss. At first I tried to unscrew the screws. Now I go right to the grinder. I've never done anything like this before. Its a lot more fun than I expected.

George
gstoneberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-24-2008, 06:47 AM   #2
EZ-GOnewild
Gone Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Re: Melex 212 Refurb

You have quite the project on your hands there George.

It's going to be a lot of fun for you and your tools!

Keep us posted with all of the progress you make.
EZ-GOnewild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 06:50 AM   #3
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

WoW! If that is the 212 I would hate to see the 112 Typical for the battery boxes to get corroded / rusted away but the rest?....I had a 112 we lifted and put some tractor lugs on......

112 Melex
scottyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 01:44 PM   #4
dans8555
Not Yet Wild