lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-04-2017, 10:15 AM   #1
Hypersprint
Gone Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Lithium Upgrade

I've been talking about it for a couple years now but I finally pulled the trigger and upgraded my 8 6v Trojans with 14 modules of Nissan Leaf Lithium batteries.

I ordered the DIY pack from EV Battery Center .com an offshoot of Hybrid Auto.

I choose not to get there 17 amp charger thinking that the 25 amp charger from Quick Charge would charge even quicker but it didn't, at no point did it put out more than 12 amps and would drop from there as the pack charged and took about 9.5 hours to go from 54.6 volts to 58.4 volts, Ray at Quick Charge said that sounds like it was working right so he offered to take it back for a refund, very nice.

So, I have an 18 amp charger coming from EV Battery Center that they do not have listed on there web site yet, this should be here tomorrow. I can't wait to try it out.

As far as powering 12 volt accessories I'm going to go with a battery since I do have a winch. I would rather not go with a full size deep cycle if I can avoid it because of the weight so I am trying to find something smaller that will give me at least 2 or 3 runs of the winch. I borrowed the battery out of my mower for now and was thinking about something like This One if anyone thinks it may do the trick or if anyone has any thoughts on a good option let me know.

Here are a before and after pic, several pics of the upgrade will follow later
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20170511_164619.jpg (131.0 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 20170524_150724.jpg (114.8 KB, 0 views)
Hypersprint is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-04-2017, 10:54 AM   #2
Hypersprint
Gone Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Re: Lithium Upgrade