lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Modified Golf Carts > Design Center > Body and Paint

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-01-2012, 11:04 AM   #1
acelynn
Not Yet Wild

Default Synthetic enamel

I'm new to painting, so whats the difference between synthetic enamel and acrylic enamel both with hardner. Is one easier to lay on or does acrylic enamel dry faster.
The reason I'm asking is a parts store is clearing out some PPG paints and they are mostly synthetic enamel. They are all gallons and I can get them at a real good price but if synthetic is going to be a pain I'll pass on them. Thanks for the help Lynn.
acelynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 01-01-2012, 06:57 PM   #2
Simplex
Not Yet Wild

Default Re: Synthetic enamel

Wow, a question that I may able to help answer! As the owner of a restoration shop (model-a-ford.com) we are a PPG shop, and generally speaking it is the quality of the components that go into the paint which is the difference between those two. The Synthetics are a little inferior to the Acrylics just because of the durability and purity of pigments. They generally do not last as long and the colors are usually not as "clean". Some people may not be able to tell a difference while others with a trained eye can spot it from 10 foot away. And, synthetics typically will not "shell up" (exterior hardness) like the acrylics will. Where this is most noticed is if you are going to colorsand & buff as the harder surface is easier to make flat.