lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-20-2010, 07:05 AM   #1
bugfuzzywormie
Not Yet Wild

E-Z-GO

Default gear change??

is changing to high speed gears worth the money?? is it difficult to do yourself?? i have been a mechanic all my life, i would like to think i could tackle this myself. im @ 21 mph now with a little more adjustment on my gov. i have 22 inch tires. if i make gear change am i going to need to adjust clutch also??? when u change to high speed gears does it hurt bottom end???
bugfuzzywormie is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 01-20-2010, 08:21 AM   #2
ruredy
Born Wild

Default Re: gear change??

The rear in your cart has a 13.something to 1 ratio unless it's a hp model then it would be around 10 to1. I believe by your speed it's a 13.+ to 1 ratio, changing to an 8 to 1 will get you about 5 maybe 6 mph more. the loss in the low end can be compensated for by a clutch or belt mod/change. I'm sure you could do it with no problems. I guess the real question is if 5 mph is worth the cost of the change. I have always thought it's not worth it. my opinion is if you want to go fast then get a vtwin or different engine that'll tach higher and have more power. If I had a nice cart I would buy or build another cart to avoid dumping a bunch of money into one because changing things doesn't really improve the value of them so much. It a loosing proposition as far as money goes but it can rapidly make up for that in entertainment value. I look at my big cart like it's a personal amusement park ride that I don't have to pay for every time I use it. At this point it's already paid for itself and now i'm riding for free.
well at least that's what I tell my wife.
ruredy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 10:09 AM   #3