lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-18-2021, 06:45 PM   #1
Jimmer76
Not Yet Wild

Default Club car Precedent left charging in the rain - now won’t move

Hello,
I’m new to golf carts and had a massive brain fart.. I left my cart charging at my camper with no cover and through a huge rain storm. Now the cart won’t move and the pre-charge resistor smokes..

I’ve read a lot about the resistors burning up that I’d say it is a dead controller but I want to see if the OBC is dead too or causing the issue..

Resistor measures at only 158 ohms
Resistor gets extremely hot in tow mode within a minute of connecting the battery cable. Nothing else turned on.
Measured the motor for continuity where it is supposed to and open to the case where it is supposed to be.. ( so not a shorted motor)

I noticed the charger starts once plugged in but did not click off momentarily and restart like it usually does. This is why I fear the OBC is dead too, it I stopped looking into this since the controller seems shot.

Any ideas on how to confirm either it’s just the controller or if the OBC is done too. Or maybe there is something else I am missing

I took everything apart today and even the controller opened up but it didn’t have any signs of water in it and didn’t smell burned up..

I couldn’t smell anything bad on the OBC either.. just the resistor smells because of the melter lead covers..

Solenoid was clicking when I turned the cart on and pressed the go pedal.

Thoughts?

Thanks
James
Jimmer76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 07-18-2021, 07:27 PM   #2
sthreatt
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Club car Precedent left charging in the rain - now won’t move