lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-29-2010, 02:23 PM   #1
juscgdc2
Not Yet Wild

Default 1998 TXT Belt Issues?

We have a 98 txt gas cart at work that i'm trying to get working. It start up and runs fine with the exception of the drive belt looking like it's so loose it just won't drive. the clutch just spins freely and the belt just rubs over it. we have a brand new belt on it. From things i can find online it is the correct belt but it just doesn't seem right. it's a 72054g01 dayco belt.

I just got here a month ago and it looks like whoever had done work on the cart has been gone for some time now. I have zero experience with these carts so please help me out, thanks
juscgdc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-29-2010, 04:01 PM   #2
COURTESYCART
Gone Wild

Default Re: 1998 TXT Belt Issues?

the drive belts are not tight, they have some play in them. Yes that belt is the standard belt for your cart. If you want the HD belt it is part number: 72328g01. The HD belt runs about .5 inch shorter for more torque.
COURTESYCART is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 04:14 PM   #3
juscgdc2
Not Yet Wild

It's more than just not tight. I can take the belt off easily without loosening anything. Is there some sort of tensioner that just may be missing for some reason. there wasn't anyway i could see of adjusting it. And thanks for the part# but a 1/2" shorter would be nowhere near enough.
Old 06-29-2010, 08:46 PM   #4
ez go go
Doin' the Wild Thang

E-Z-GO