lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric golf carts
Electric golf carts Harley Davidson, Melex, Pargo, Taylor-Dunn and other Misc. Carts.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-10-2010, 11:47 PM   #1
DumbMF
Not Yet Wild
Harley Davidson

Default Quick Battery Question about dead cells

Hey Gang,

Newbie here. I just bought a golf cart from some random stranger for a couple hundred. It topped out at maybe 12mph on the flat test drive i took. Got it home and my hilly terrain was a different story. With a full charge I can crawl up my driveway. With less than full it just stops.

So I identified the cart...from the serial number it appears to be a Harley Davidson 1979 MGIV. From the threads I read here I thought I'd start with checking the batteries. Turns out I have 6 Trojan T-105 batteries. Volt test shows over 6 on 5 of them. The Hydro test is consistent on 5 of them. The one other battery has shows 5.6V and the hydro tests for each three cell show 1250, 1100, 1100.

I'm assuming i need to replace the one bad battery. Is that correct?

Also could one bad battery cause some hill climb issues? or do i have some other drive issues??

Thanks!!

MF
DumbMF is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-11-2010, 12:06 AM   #2
rib33024

Default Re: Quick Battery Question about dead cells

Welcome MF

The one battery is toast/ No good --What year are these batteries ??
And what does over 6 mean 6 what? on the other 5 batteries, and what was the Hydro reading, this info will help--
rib33024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 07:57 AM   #3
DumbMF
Not Yet Wild
Harley Davidson

Sorry, I should be more specific since I really don't know what I'm talking about and for that matter...have no idea what I'm doing either...lol.