lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-27-2017, 09:04 PM   #1
Fegarex
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Default 36v cart question

I have a 2003 TXT PDS 36v. I just installed and am "breaking in" new Trojan T105 batteries. When I remove it from the charger my dash voltmeter reads 43 volts. When I go out and drive it all seems fine under light load. If I am on a slight incline and I mash the pedal I can get the meter to read under 36 volts. Once I let back up it comes back to 41/42 range. I am new to all of this and wonder if this is normal? I know it has to drain something but I didn't know how much. All connections are tight and when I check nothing feels warm.
Thanks
Fegarex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 09:24 PM   #2
nosaj2
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Re: 36v cart question

You take your volt reading with no load to get an idea of your remaining battery level.

Don't worry about the voltage drop under a load. That is normal to some extent.
nosaj2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2017, 12:02 AM   #3
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

Voltage drop under load is very critical information. If it exceeds the value of one battery be concerned you may have a weak battery or worse.
Your readings are artificially high due to coming fresh off the charger. Real reading would be taken 12-24 hours after the charge ended. This number should be close to 38.4 and 6v below that is 32v, that's where my eyebrow raises.
scottyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2017, 05:34 PM   #4
nosaj2
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottyb View Post
Voltage drop under load is very critical information. If it exceeds the value of one battery be concerned you may have a weak battery or worse.