lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-25-2011, 03:48 PM   #1
garminator
Not Yet Wild

Club Car

Default lights dim when accelerating?

Bear with me guys as i'm new to the cart world. I recently purchased a 94 CC DS Series cart with a set of solid batteries, however when I run it with the lights on for over 15 minutes, the headlights start to dim when I accelerate until they eventually cut off when I accelerate. Any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance.
garminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 07-25-2011, 05:04 PM   #2
shadowman
The Last Moja Morani

Club Car

Default Re: lights dim when accelerating?

is it a 36 or 48 volt cart? and you need to see how lights are wired up.....if its a 48 volt cart does it have a voltage reducer? if 36 volt same thing or are the lights wired to 2 batteries? lift the seat and see if you have any extra 12 or 14 gage wires running to any batteries.......................also i think you want to test and load test your batteries...........................
shadowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 05:36 PM   #3
sticks
Not Yet Wild

my cart did the same before i bought new batteries. my batteries were 5 years old and would charge and run the cart. the headlights did the same as you stated. I would run my cart with my GPS on and would only go about 6 miles before the battery charge light would start coming on, and lights were very dim. after i installed new batteries, the lights don't dim, and i have driven 13 miles (75 minutes)non stop, up and down hills and off road, and never had the charge light come on.