lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Modified Golf Carts > Big Block Talk! > Clone Engine Swaps

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-12-2015, 09:33 AM   #1
kingster
Not Yet Wild

Default vc460 engine swap

I am a newbie, but I would like some insight on swapping the vc460 into my buggy. when I say buggy I don't mean golf cart, I mean dune buggy. I came to you guys forum because there seem to be a lot of people who has already purchased this engine and swapped it into there golf cart. My dune buggy originally came with a 250cc engine, but it has gave me so many problems and caused me so much money till Im ready to start all over with a new engine that has more power and is more durable. For the torque converter I decided to use a Polaris sportman 500 cvt setup. Then from the cvt to a gearbox, so I can have reverse. No chains involved all shafts.
Can I have some insight on the vc460 engine and power it produces and some help on the swap. ohh yea I forgot, the buggy I have is called a hammerhead 250, there is pictures on google so you can get a general idea of what it look like.
thanks
kingster is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 04-12-2015, 10:23 AM   #2
slonomo
Searching for The Way

Yamaha

Default Re: vc460 engine swap

Can't help you with the dune buggy part, but I can give you some info on the VC460.

This engine is a "Honda GX390 Clone", which means it is a copy, usually made in China. Vegas Carts and Performance designed their own version with 440cc then came with a longer stroke version with 460cc. Both engines are identical except for the crank. The newer versions use a little different head I think, but is still similar.

Stock the engine is said to have 20hp, and my guess is that power is prob peak at around 2500-3000 rpm, with a peak rev of about 5000 rpm. These engines run great, start easy, have good power feel.