lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Modified Golf Carts > Extreme DC!
Extreme DC! Extreme Electric Golf Carts!

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-24-2021, 03:14 PM   #1
super jim
Not Yet Wild

Club Car

Default solar panels?

Any of you guys running solar panels? Interested in how efficient a solar panel with voltage boost would be with Lithium Ion Phosphate batteries like the RoyPow S51160.

Seems it would be great for charging the battery and also to increase run time by charging while driving. Need to be able to step up the voltage from the panel to 56-58 volts per Roypow.

I'm sure it can be done but I have zero experience with this.
super jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-25-2021, 12:50 PM   #2
bronsonj
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: solar panels?

First, you need to find a solar charge controller that is sufficient for your specific voltage. Last time I looked (a year or so ago) you could find charge controllers for lead acid, but I couldn't find one for a 57.6v lithium battery. Assuming you do find one, then you have to consider the watts provided vs the watts used.

I just looked and there is a 310 watt solar panel that I picked at random, it is 39.1 inches wide and 77 inches long, so you can fit one on your roof. It's $227 for the panel. Using a hypothetical cart drawing 70 amps at 20 mph at 50.0v means 3,500 watts continuous to keep it moving at 20mph. Acceleration is more expensive so we'll ignore that. The panel above is a bit shy of 1/10th the power consumed. So let's just assume you find a better panel that is 350 watts (1/10th the power consumed).