lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric golf carts
Electric golf carts Harley Davidson, Melex, Pargo, Taylor-Dunn and other Misc. Carts.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-01-2023, 03:39 PM   #1
Ldom
Not Yet Wild

Default Charging a single 6V battery question

Hello,

I bought an old Melex 252 a while back with fairly good batteries. I charged them and filled with distilled water and then took them out of the cart due to having to do some repairs.

It's now been a while and I thought I could charge them one by one with my charger that I normally use to maintain car och motorcycle batteries.
But I am not very good at this and was I little confused by the specifications of the charger.

My batteries are DEKA GC15 230Ah x6.

I attached the specs of my charger below.

What does it mean when it says charger capacity 10-80Ah? Is it not suitable for my 6V 230Ah then? Or am I understanding it wrong?
I am also wondering what it should read on the charger when it is full? I left the charger on over night and during this day and the charger was not showing full yet but switching between 7.4-7.5V. Is that correct?

Sorry for the dumb questions, just wanted to understand this and make sure I can use this charger on the batteries.

Thank you very much in advance!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2023-03-01 at 21.26.35.jpg (20.3 KB, 0 views)
Ldom is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 03-01-2023, 07:16 PM   #2
ojo
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Charging a single 6V battery question

It's a 4 amp charger only, capable to charge batteries from 10 - 80ah capacity but, not capable to fully charge your 230ah batterie. To do that, you'll need a 20-25 amp unit.
ojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2023, 05:17 AM   #3
mlj427
Gone Wild