lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Modified Golf Carts > Extreme DC!
Extreme DC! Extreme Electric Golf Carts!

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-22-2017, 01:17 PM   #1
DaveTM
Gone Wild

Default Lithium BMS....explain for dummies!!

Ok guys....I'm not an engineer. I'm a retired CPA. So....reading plume's of tax law and digesting it is easy for me. But....this electric stuff....it's gotta be really dummied down for me to grasp it.

So....can we have some post that would 'splain exactly what BMS is and does? I know it stands for "Battery Management System" so from that....and stuff that I've read, a BMS is NOT the battery charger. Right? The BMS somehow monitors each "cell" of a lithium pack so that each cell will not overcharge and go KA-Boom?

Anyway.....if you could offer some "BMS Post for Dummies" it would help!!
DaveTM is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 12-22-2017, 01:19 PM   #2
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Lithium BMS....explain for dummies!!

We will if you do the same for the new tax laws
scottyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 01:39 PM   #3
DaveTM
Gone Wild

Sure.....the short explanation is "Your taxes will likely go down next year.....and then not long after.....back up."

I haven't read the 150 page (as most who voted for it) of the law. And remember.....Congress pass's the law, then in the law they direct Treasury to issue the detailed rules and regulations that follow the law....and what is known as "Congress's intent" of the law.

The devil is in the details.....and we likely won't see all the details for another 6 to 8 months at the earliest.
Old 12-22-2017, 07:09 PM   #4
cgtech
Over This Interview Is...

Yamaha

Battery management system monitors & protects each cell from being drawn too low (by disabling cart), and protects against overcharge (by disabling charger). That's the short story.