lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric golf carts > Tomberlin

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-28-2021, 05:49 PM   #1
TomberlinNewbie
Not Yet Wild

Default Possible 2010 Tomberlin Curtis 1268 SepEx DC Motor Controller issue

Hello All,
I'm new to golf carts... I bought one not working thinking i can fix it but nope... and i need help... i've been reading a lot on this forum but i still cant get it running.
I too bought a 2010 Tomberlin 48V Emerge 500 LE from the neighborhood. It doesnt run but i got it for cheap. I am hoping to fix it and use it before Halloween to ride around with my kids.
Original Symptom:
Fully charged to 52V, started running rough with a little jerking but finally ran for 3min at 15mph then suddenly stopped. Batteries at 49V. Let it cool down for an hour and then it ran for 1min with no issues then stopped. Now, it will only run for a few seconds with rear wheels off the ground.

Current Symptom Sequence
Fully charged. Turn on keys, Curtis 1268 has error code 12 at start.
I press on the throttle, Main contactor receives 48V signal and contactor shorts/clicks. Curtis 1268 powers the motor and wheels turn freely for a few seconds, then main contactor 48V signal goes away and main contactor goes open. Curtis 1268 has new error code 55 and then it tries to close the main contactor again. Main contactor receives 48v signal, and contactor shorts/clicks, the motor runs for less than 1 sec then 48V contactor signal voltage goes away. Main contactor goes open. Curtis 1268 stops sending signal to contactor, and nothing happens afterwards. I let go of the throttle.
I can repeat the whole sequence again when I press the throttle.

Troubleshoot: