lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-16-2021, 05:39 PM   #1
tuckercart
Not Yet Wild

Default 1990 EZGO Marathon? Need help upgrading!!

Hello All,
I am brand new to all of the golf cart stuff, the rabbit holes are endless!!!
I was given an old EZGO-- Serial: 606022 Model: H2790
All i know is its 1990, from the model number. I'm assuming it's a Marathon based on cruising through the forums.
I'm using it in a trailer park just east of Toronto, Ontario. A mix of flats and hills.
Just replaced all the batteries, 36v. It runs ok, slow and even slower on hills.
I want to upgrade the whole cart but want to start with the drivetrain.
I've read about series/pds/dcs and am lost already to what this cart has/is.
Attached are pics pre new batteries. Soooo new motor/controller/solenoid?
And can i just add 2x more batteries for 48v?

Thanks for all your input in advance!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg unnamed.jpg (225.5 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_6833.jpg (20.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_6834.jpg (13.6 KB, 0 views)
tuckercart is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-17-2021, 10:26 AM   #2
bronsonj
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 1990 EZGO Marathon? Need help upgrading!!

That is a series cart.

Going uphill it will always slow compared to running on flat ground. But going higher V will give you better speed and torque.

Before going with more voltage you'll want to check out that controller. It is sitting in the middle of the batteries. There is a chance it is compatible with 36 and 48v. If it is, you got lucky and can save $$$.