lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 10-17-2009, 10:41 AM   #1
cokerta
Not Yet Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Controller upgrade on 05 EZ-GO PDS

I have a lifted 05 EZ-GO PDS that is stock and may have to replace what might be a failing controller. Seeking opinions on an upgrade one step at a time as I am new to this. My terrain is flat and sometimes wet I will be using the cart for hunting and the once a week high speed jaunt to Grandmas a mile and a half down the highway.
Chuck at alltrax reccommends a DCX 500A PDS controller as the first step but I read on here that some are not a big fan of high amp controllers on PDS carts, not sure what teir reasoning was and would like to know
All opinions are appreciated.

Thanks
TC
cokerta is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 10-17-2009, 10:58 AM   #2
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Controller upgrade on 05 EZ-GO PDS

Alltrax makes great controllers... but for DCS and PDS carts their controllers (DXS) eliminate the regenerative braking. SO it is possible to overspeed the motor (too high RPM) and grenade the motor flying downhill for example....
scottyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 11:33 AM   #3
mikesmotortoys
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

We set 2 BGWers up with PDS controllers this week. One went with the 500, but set at 80% output, and another the 400 amp. I personally like the 400 for a good all around use cart. Don't forget to order 4 gauge cables, if you haven't got them already

Factory EZGO - Bad Boy Buggy - Dixie Chopper Mowers
mikesmotortoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 01:25 PM   #4
cokerta
Not Yet Wild

E-Z-GO