lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Modified Golf Carts > Members Rides
Members Rides Golf Carts Only.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-25-2015, 11:54 AM   #1
coopusga
Not Yet Wild

Question Advice for newbie on buying used electric Club Car or EZ Go

Howdy,

I'm a newbie and have done a lot of searching on the forum and have learned a lot from the enthusiasts here. I'm looking for some advice on some specific questions on do's and don'ts on configuring a used electric Club Car or EZ-Go cart to fit my needs.

I visited the authorized Club Car and EZ-Go dealers in the Austin area over the weekend, and from that experience as well as lurking here, I know that both Club Car Precedents and EZ-Go Freedom RXVs are good carts that will serve me well. I'm a golfer and live in a golf cart community where the carts are street legal. I definitely want electric, and will use the cart primarily to play golf in, and to get me to/from the golf course and the nearby community center. I'm more interested in a comfortable ride and hassle free ownership than anything else. If I can get the cart to do 20 mph, that's ok with me, I don't need to win a race.

I'm considering buying a remanufactured 2011 Club Car Precedent from a reputable nearby dealer. These carts are off lease and will have new batteries, new Club Car body, new tires and a custom seat.

So with that preamble, here are my questions:

I've been advised to upgrade from stock 8" tires to 12" tires. I know I can pick up a little speed, but will the bigger tires result in a more comfortable ride?

Do I need to have the dealer do anything regarding speed codes or other modifications to get me to 18-20 mph?

Anything I need to look for regarding the battery configuration? I know he puts new Trojan batteries in and it's a 48v, but beyond that I don't know if the batteries are 12v, 6v or 8v.