lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-16-2012, 10:55 AM   #1
MDLNB
Gone Wild
Club Car

Question 22 inch tires

I used the search function, but did not find anything related to this exact question. Sorry if it is an old topic. I'm a newbie.

I have an old 97 DS 48 volt with the standard/stock 8inch rims. It seems slow to me but I have nothing to compare it with. I have not yet used my GPS to check the speed. No big deal.

I am planning to use a helper spring to remedy the old spring sag and was thinking of using rear shackles to raise it about two inches. My question is:
Can I use a 22 inch tire on my 8 inch rim and still have clearance? It will only be on the back. This is a road and possibly golf course use only vehicle, NOT for four wheeling, hunting, etc. Most of my travel will be on the road surface. So, if the 22 inch will work on the stock rims, will a 22x10x8 work? It was either this or thinking of getting some 10 inch rims for the back. But, I would like to use the 8 inch if possible. I am not going to put a lot of money into this cart, as it will likely end up being my second cart when I purchase a gas car. This one will probably be used primarily by the spouse.

By the way, the front tires are practically new and the rear tires are due to be replaced. That's the reason for the question. Decided to lift it a bit in the back and hoped to get a mph or so more by the larger tire. I'll put a new set of shiny hub covers on it to smooth out some of the ugly.

If you know of another string that already addressed this issue, I apologize and would appreciate a link to it.
MDLNB is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 12-16-2012, 05:17 PM   #2
buckmanmike
Gone Wild

Default Re: 22 inch tires