Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum

Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/index.php)
-   Harley Davidson (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/forumdisplay.php?f=78)
-   -   '79 HD MGIV - Caliper brakes shot? or not?? (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/showthread.php?t=35139)

DumbMF 07-04-2010 07:28 PM

'79 HD MGIV - Caliper brakes shot? or not??

Hey guys, hoping someone with brake experience can point me in the right direction....apologies for not using the right lingo as i'm a total newbie.

I have a '79 HD MGIV. For the brakes, there is a single metal disk in the center off the drive train, then there's what I would call a caliper style brake that says "Nissin" on it.

If i have the back end of the cart off the ground and manually rotate the wheels...there is no sound. However if i press and release the accelerator, that turns the disk going through the caliper brake and there is a metal on metal sound. The sound gets worse if i hit the brakes.

So i took the brake unit off and took some pics. It looks like the way it was mounted was way crooked and perhaps the puck pad thing wore out both sides.

So my question is...can i just buy some HD Nissin brake pucks, replace then mount it so the wear is even? Are there any other options??

Thanks,
M

DumbMF 07-04-2010 10:07 PM

Re: '79 HD MGIV - Caliper brakes shot? or not??

4 Attachment(s)
Here are some pics. I don't think they loaded on the original post.

jerrys 07-05-2010 01:15 AM

HI
I have a 79 hd MGIV
mine came with out a charger
is yours a 36 or 18 volt charger
I test at only 18 volts through the cart side charger plug
could you test yours and see what you get at the cart
I'm using 36 volt charger, but I have to jumper the batteries to get 36 volt throught the cart plug, then I pull the jumper when I drive the cart

DOOmsman 07-05-2010 11:44 AM

If the disc is not torn up replace the pucks and line it up.
The pucks will wear unevenly.

DumbMF 07-10-2010 10:18 AM