Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum

Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/index.php)
-   Gas EZGO (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   88 ezgo marathon purchase (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/showthread.php?t=151816)

Rizzle906 04-14-2019 11:23 AM

88 ezgo marathon purchase

1 Attachment(s)
Hey guys. Im new to the golf cart world. Ive been looking for awhile now and have stumbled on this 88 marathon for 1000$. I guess what im asking is if it worth it? Cart prices by me are ridiculous and i have yet to find anything less then 1500$ and most need work. This has been gone through. Cleaned carb, plugs, new fuel. Seem pretty decent. Has 135 compression.

trig123 04-14-2019 11:52 AM

Re: 88 ezgo marathon purchase

According to where you are located. I would not pay that much but I am tight :mrgreen: I looked closer at your picture and I sure wouldn't pay a grand for that cart but that is me :)

Rizzle906 04-14-2019 04:17 PM

Thanks for the info but you say according to where i live you wouldnt pay that. If you look anywhere online around where i live there is nothing thats under 2k thats decent. Buy the pic you say you wouldnt pay 1k. What do you see or not see that makes you say that? This will be mainly used to go 2 miles to my inlaws and around the yard for my boy. I like the idea of 2smoke over 4stroke because the ease of rebuilding. Thanks again for replying i appreciate it.

cart around 04-14-2019 05:22 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Have you already driven the cart? Does it jump to life? Does it hit at least 18mph with ease?
Compression on that engine brand new is only 120 psi. Somebody has changed the piston.
Over the years, there have been a few people on here that had a high compression like that, but the cart wouldn't run. It was because the piston was in backwards.

How much would you pay for a 31 year old bone stock Chevy? I have a 2007 Cobalt that isn't worth $500.

This is the manual.