Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum

Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/index.php)
-   Electric Club Car (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Help - solenoids clicking but cart wont move (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/showthread.php?t=5003)

Tripod 05-16-2008 02:16 PM

Help - solenoids clicking but cart wont move

I'm new to the whole cart scene - forgive the newbie questions.

When I step on the accelerator I can hear the solenoids clicking...I have 36+ volts going 'into' the bank of solenoids but nothing coming 'out' when I step on the accelerator. I 'assume' the problem is a solenoid but I'm just guessing...what else can it be? How do I test it?

I have a 36 v club car DS electric. Based on the wiring diagrams posted by roady89 mine is an 81-85 (it has several solenoids - not just one). I've downloaded the wiring diagram but I need help testing the system (what sort of voltage should I be getting and where). The cart was running fine and a few weeks ago it started to 'quit' intermittently...a few days ago it finally gave up the ghost... just quit - but solenoids are still clicking...just wont move forward or reverse.

phasetim 05-16-2008 04:35 PM

Re: Help - solenoids clicking but cart wont move

as you press on the pedal you activate microswitches that in turn activate the solenoids, make sure each level is getting activating voltage, and then if so, check to see if solenoids are passing voltage between each one.

rusty 05-16-2008 10:26 PM

Welcome Tripod...............

shadowman 05-20-2008 01:03 PM