Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum

Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/index.php)
-   Electric Club Car (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Static from radio when lights are on??? (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/showthread.php?t=115403)

Kmart06 02-27-2016 08:22 PM

Static from radio when lights are on???

Just finished installing lights, horn and stereo with amp and 4 speakers on my 48V 2006 Club Car DS. Everything works great except that when the radio is on and I turn on the lights, either set I have, I get really bad static. Anyone know what would cause/fix this? Also, when the radio is on and I honk the horn the radio turns off, then starts back up. Have no clue what would cause that! I am not very good with electrical connections but with a lot of help from member Sergio I got it installed! Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

crash test dummy 02-27-2016 08:31 PM

Re: Static from radio when lights are on???

you need a rf filter in your power line to radio

http://thumbs2.ebaystatic.com/d/l225...H-si8dlG9g.jpg

are you running a reducer or a battery to power you stuff ?

Kmart06 02-27-2016 08:49 PM

reducer

crash test dummy 02-27-2016 08:53 PM

over load of reducer would cause radio to cut off

might need a bigger reducer

Kmart06 02-27-2016 09:00 PM

Its a 30 amp reducer and the radio doesn't cut off, it just turns to almost pure static.

crash test dummy 02-27-2016 09:03 PM

Quote:

Also, when the radio is on and I honk the horn the radio turns off, then starts back up.
sorry i thought it cut off
filter will help with static

mrgolf 02-27-2016 09:05 PM

Put a diode in line of the radio power wire, between the diode and radio put a capacitor across neg and pos radio power wires. This will keep other things from pulling power from radio for a few seconds. Works on my GPS that used to turn off when I turned head lights on.

Kmart06 02-27-2016 09:11 PM

Quote: