Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum

Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/index.php)
-   Lithium Club Car (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/forumdisplay.php?f=98)
-   -   Charging Lithium Battery (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/showthread.php?t=150181)

MoparChas 02-15-2019 01:02 PM

Charging Lithium Battery

1 Attachment(s)
I am new to this lithium battery setup like a lot of people my question is should I leave the cart plugged in when not in use are will it harm the batteries I have two in my cart
Thanks

NCPW 02-15-2019 01:37 PM

Re: Charging Lithium Battery

There's no need to leave lithium packs plugged in like with lead acid when not in use. Once they reach their balancing voltage or max cell voltage, the charge should shut down depending on your wiring diagram, charger and BMS being used.

I think leaving the charger plugged in is asking for trouble in the long run.

MoparChas 02-15-2019 02:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCPW (Post 1587761)
There's no need to leave lithium packs plugged in like with lead acid when not in use. Once they reach their balancing voltage or max cell voltage, the charge should shut down depending on your wiring diagram, charger and BMS being used.

I think leaving the charger plugged in is asking for trouble in the long run.

thanks NCPW
that’s kind of what I thought

NCPW 02-15-2019 02:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MoparChas (Post 1587770)
thanks NCPW
that’s kind of what I thought

No problem:thumbup:

The last time I charged my cart was almost 4 weeks ago. I only use my cart 1-2 days a week most times and travel short distances; maybe around 2 miles or so at a time. I'm still sitting at 55.5v from 57.8v. Love my lithium set up :thumbup:

MoparChas 02-15-2019 03:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCPW (Post 1587772)
No problem:thumbup: