Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum

Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/index.php)
-   Lithium EZGO (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/forumdisplay.php?f=99)
-   -   Stability? (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/showthread.php?t=151773)

yurtle 04-12-2019 01:29 PM

Stability?

Does significantly reducing the battery weight help or hurt with the center of gravity? It's already pretty high, as I managed to roll mine to its side with just six batteries. Do folks "think" theirs feels more, less, or the same as far as top heavy?

It's been way too long since I studied that stuff, and I never needed it for work so... I'm sure with the time I could do a FEA model, but that's just not on my to do list.

Volt_Ampere 04-12-2019 01:35 PM

Re: Stability?

Roll moment has to do with where the CG is relative to the ground. It might be slightly worse with less battery weight but the other factor is total mass which is lower with a lighter battery. I had to change my shocks on my Yamaha cart to deal with the loss of about 250 pounds of battery weight. It rode like an empty pickup truck with the stock shocks and only one rider. I got a set of shocks meant for a gas cart which is also much lighter than a Lead Acid Battery cart. That solved the ride problem for me.

DaveTM 04-12-2019 02:17 PM

I can't say that the feeling of "roll over" is any more or any less than when I had 8 65-lb each FA batteries and now a 7 module unit. Net-net the cart lost about 400-lbs.

I will say I notice the weight loss when I drive my F-150 and the cart is in the truck bed. Much easier to handle without the x-tra 400-lbs.

scottyb 04-12-2019 02:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Volt_Ampere (Post 1604318)